top of page
  • Writer's picturePauline Stirling

Cairnsmore of Fleet 'race'

I started running three years ago. It was in between the pandemic lockdowns. The local gym in Bembridge was still shut. I had just joined Facebook (I didn't want to be on Facebook as a teacher in a small community!) and read that someone was organising a Couch To 5k at the rec. The family thought I was mad but I joined up. And then found at the age of 58, that I loved running!


Soon after that, we bought our little flat in Moffat, Dumfries and Galloway, and I joined the local hill running club, Harfell Hill Runners. This is a friendly club with members of all ages, who have inspired and encouraged me. I am still not a fast runner, but I do love exploring the hills. Being part of the hill running club allows me to explore the hills with others! I do the occasional hill race too. Last year, I did both the Tinto hill race in South Lanarkshire, and the Hartfell horseshoe race which is close to Moffat, coming 3rd in my age group in both races.


The Cairnsmore of Fleet race was part of the Hartfell Hill Running Club's winter series this year. However, this year's race was cancelled. It was then decided that we could run it in our own time as long as we submitted our Strava times before the end of February.


I found someone to race (run!) it with me and off we went. Cairnsmore of Fleet is an isolated mountain in the Southern Uplands. It is the most southerly mountain in Scotland and the highest of the Solway hills. It is home to the most extensive area of open moorland in Galloway, and has been designated as a Site of Special Scientific Interest. The summit and eastern flanks of the mountain are designated as a national nature reserve,


It was an hour and a half's drive from Moffat. OS map: NX 50121 67048. The weather was OK for the end of February but we still set off with all the Scottish Hill Running mandatory kit. After a steady run through farmland, we started the climb up through the forest. Once out of the forest, we had a very steep zig zag path to climb before reaching the boggy plateau. There is a stone footpath most of the way up. It was a bit misty at the summit so the views were disappointing. Apparently on a good day, you can expect views of the Cree Estuary and Wigtown Bay, the Lake District, the Isle of Man and Snowdonia. The highest summits of the Galloway Hills can be seen to the north, and Ireland is in the view to the west.


A quick photo at the top and then we ran all the way back down. It was 4 miles up and back, and my Strava 'moving time' was 1 hour 56; 'elapsed time' was 2 hours 22. I read online that if you intend to walk it, allow between 3 and a half and 5 hours. I am thinking about taking the dogs for a walk up Cairnsmore of Fleet but just to the bottom of the zig zag path. There are still great views from there but you can avoid the steepest and boggiest bits!




12 views
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page