top of page
  • Writer's picturePauline Stirling

Monsal Trail cycle

Updated: Sep 19, 2019

The Monsal Trail is a cycling, horse riding and walking trail, passing through the valley of the River Wye, in the Peak District. It opened in 1981, constructed from a section of the former Manchester, Buxton, Matlock and Midlands Junction Railway, which closed in 1968.

The Monsal Trail is about 8.5 miles in length. I decided to cycle this trail so hired a bike for four hours from a cycle hire shop at Hassop station. I was staying in Bakewell so I walked from the B and B to join the trail at Bakewell station and then walked the trail to Hassop station to pick up the bike.

From Hassop, the trail passes through Great Longstone, Monsal Dale, Cressbrook, Millers Dale and Blackwell Mill before the finish at Topley Pike junction in Wye Dale, three miles East of Buxton. I made a few stops for photos and to enjoy the views at landmarks including Headstone Viaduct (photo below), Cressbrook Mill and Litton Mill, to read the information boards, and to visit the Information Centre at Millers Dale.

For me, the best bit, was cycling through the tunnels! It amazed me how cold it got just before entering the tunnel. These tunnels are lit and there are six of them.

There was another cycle hire shop at the other end of the trail, which also had a small café so I was able to stop for a short break before cycling back. The trail actually starts (or ends really, I think I was doing it in reverse) at Coombs Viaduct, so I cycled to there to make sure I had seen it all, before cycling back to Hassop to drop off the bike. Then I walked back to Bakewell station, back through the lovely town of Bakewell (famous of course for Bakewell tart and Bakewell pudding!) and back to my B and B on the outskirts of the town.

A great experience: fresh air and exercise; beautiful views; nature and wildlife; and a chance to learn a bit about the history of the railways.


Headstone viaduct.

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page