top of page
  • Writer's picturePauline Stirling

Admiralty Arch circular walk

Updated: Sep 19, 2019

Admiralty Arch is a landmark building in the centre of London which incorporates an archway providing access between The Mall and Trafalgar Square. It was commissioned by King Edward VII in memory of his mother, Queen Victoria (an Isle of Wight connection there!). It is now a Grade 1 listed building. In the past, it served as residence of the First Sea Lord and was used by the Admiralty (originally known as the Office of the Admiralty and Marine Affairs). This is a good starting place for this circular walk, as it serves as a gateway to the Mall, a long straight tree-lined road linking Trafalgar Square to Buckingham Palace (see photo). The postcode for Admiralty Arch is SW1A 2WH; grid ref: TQ 299 803. The nearest tube station is Charing Cross. I was in London, the day I did this walk, as I had a British Council SE region Ambassadors' meeting at the British Council's London offices in Spring Gardens, which is just off of Trafalgar Square.

As I walked down the Mall, I heard horses from Horse Guards Parade so took a quick detour round to the left to the large parade ground at Whitehall. Every morning at 11am (except Sunday at 10am) the ceremony of Changing of the Guard takes place at Horse Guards Parade and I happened to be passing just after 11am. As I left the parade ground, I noticed that there was an entrance to St James's park opposite so I took a path through the park back on to the Mall. There are lots of paths across the park which provide an alternative to walking on the pavement for a large part of this walk.

Back on the Mall, I headed down to Buckingham Palace. Originally known as Buckingham House, the building at the core of today's palace was a large townhouse built for the Duke of Buckingham in 1703. Buckingham Palace is the official residence of the Queen.

With The Queen Victoria Memorial in front of you, turn left in to Spur Road and then left again in to Birdcage Walk, with St James's park now on your left. As I walked down Birdcage Walk, admiring the architecture of the buildings on the right hand side of this wide road, I could hear the birds singing in the park on the left.

At the next junction, you will see a sign to the Churchill War Rooms. If you turn left here, you can go back up Horse Guards Parade and back to Admiralty Arch. This way, you have walked around the outside of St James's park.

I carried on and took a left turn down Whitehall. Before this, I could see the Supreme Court to my right and the Palace of Westminster in front.

Whitehall takes you past Downing Street, on your left, and back to Trafalgar Square. Cross Trafalgar Square and you are back to Admiralty Arch.

Buckingham Palace.

13 views
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page