top of page
  • Writer's picturePauline Stirling

Appuldurcombe circular walk

Updated: Oct 26, 2020

I started this walk in the picturesque Isle of Wight village, Godshill. Godshill has plenty to offer both holidaymakers and islanders, with its range of tearooms, pubs, craft shops and tourist attractions. There is a huge free car park next to the Old Smithy:


The A3020, which connects Shanklin to the island's main town of Newport, runs through Godshill. Some of the best pubs on the island are on this main road:





Two Southern Vectis bus routes, the 2 and the 3, run through the village. Both services, which take different routes, connect Ryde to Newport. This means that Godshill is also easily reached from the mainland via the Wightlink FastCat from Portsmouth to Ryde.




The Model Village is well worth a visit:



For walkers and cyclists, there are many paths and routes from and surrounding Godshill, and if you are an equestrian enthusiast, Froghill Tack is located in Sandford, just outside of Godshill:



I parked in the Old Smithy car park and then walked along the A3020, Shanklin Road, towards Sandford and Shanklin. The Stenbury Trail crosses this road. I picked up the trail on the righthand side of the main road towards Godshill Park Farm and Godshill Park House. I entered the Appuldurcombe estate via the impressive Freemantle Gate. I had brought a picnic with me so I stopped for a while in the grounds of Appuldurcombe House, after a walk around the shell of what once was the grandest house on the Isle of Wight:


https://www.english-heritage.org.uk/visit/places/appuldurcombe-house/


Following lunch, I picked up the footpath again and then turned right after Span Lodge. After walking up a steep narrow road, I turned right again and then right again on to Stenbury Down. From here I could see Culver Down to the right and Tennyson Down to the left, as well as the mainland straight ahead. I took the path which skirted around to the left of Appuldurcombe Down. At the crossroads of paths on the Worsley Trail, I took the path signposted to Sainham. At Sainham Farm I turned right and then left into the woods. This path leads to the back of the Griffin, opposite the Old Smithy car park. Before walking back to the car, I stopped for an ice-cream at one of the many tearooms! And of course, I popped in to Froghill Tack (seemed silly not to when so close to Godshill!) on my way home.


Appuldurcombe House and gardens.

110 views
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page