top of page
  • Writer's picturePauline Stirling

Torquay to Brixham walk

Updated: Sep 20, 2019

This coastal walk has everything: starting at the marina in Torquay and finishing at the harbour in Brixham, it takes in seaside promenades and esplanades, pretty little sandy coves, woodland trails and even a walk alongside the steam railway. Head south from Torquay, through Paignton, following the South West Coast Path:

The walk took me just under three hours (including an ice-cream stop!). From Brixham, I got the bus back to Torquay, but there is also the option of a passenger ferry which connects Brixham to Torquay. It's not a difficult walk but there are steps in places, making it inaccessible for anyone with limited mobility or for pushchairs etc.

Torquay: seaside resort town, also known as the English Riviera. The marina, from where I started my walk, has a number of good cafés.

Paignton: bustling seaside resort with a pier. There were very pretty beach huts on my walk, which appeared to have moved as they weren't in a straight line (it had been very windy the night before!).

Dartmouth Steam Railway: quite a lot of this walk was alongside the railway line. I desperately wanted to see a steam train when I was next to the track. However, one went past when I was further down the coastal path at Broad Sands. It was still an amazing sight, to look back and see the steam train. Dartmouth Steam Railway Station is close to Goodrington Sands where I stopped for an ice-cream.

Brixham: is full of character and charm (see photo). One of England's most historic fishing ports, it is a hive of activity.

This is definitely a walk that I would want to do again. Perhaps next time I would stop longer in Brixham...or maybe take a detour and have a ride on the steam train...


Brixham, Devon.

17 views
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page