top of page
  • Writer's picturePauline Stirling

Woolacombe to Combe Martin via Ilfracombe

Updated: Sep 20, 2019


I walked Combe Martin to Lynton, Lynton to Porlock Weir and Porlock Weir to Minehead, mostly along the South West Coast Path, last summer as an Assessor for a Duke of Edinburgh (DofE) Silver group and knew I had to go back to walk another section! This time, my base was Ilfracombe, a beautiful spot on the north Devon coast.

I caught the 301 from Ilfracombe to Woolacombe to begin my walk.

Woolacombe is not very big so it was easy to find the start of the path, to walk the 13 miles to Combe Martin. This is a beautiful section of the South West Coast Path, which includes some easy cliff paths and some more strenuous ascents, especially between Lee Bay and Morte Point. It is well signposted all the way.

As I walked up away from Woolacombe, I could look back over its beautiful golden sands. In fact, the views were breathtaking the entire way, as was the wind - I had all types of weather from sunshine to hail! The path passes by Ilfracombe and is perhaps not so hilly on the second part, through to Combe Martin.

So many pretty little coves along the way, and very rugged coastline - easy to see how Morte Point got its name! Even though I had some rain, Lundy and the Welsh coast were still visible in the distance.

Four and a half hours later, I finished my walk in Combe Martin and I caught the 301 bus back to Ilfracombe. My next stretch of this path is to be on the south Devon coast in a few days time.


The South West coastal path between Woolacombe and Ilfracombe.


8 views
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page